Musica non grata Opening Concert

Vítězslava Kaprálová
Bohuslav Martinů
Alexander Zemlinsky


Vítězslava Kaprálová Concert for Piano and Orchestra in D Minor, Op. 7
Alexander Zemlinsky Psalm 23 for mixed choir and orchestra / Psalm 13 for mixed choir and orchestra
Bohuslav Martinů Czech Rhapsody for baritone, mixed choir, orchestra, and organ

State Opera Orchestra
State Opera Chorus
Conductor: Karl-Heinz Steffens
Piano: Alice Rajnohová
Baryton: Svatopluk Sem
Organ: Jan Kalfus


previous next
Sun 30/08/2020
8.00 pm
The State Opera
previous performance next performance

The evening’s programme will feature works by three creators who, to a great extent, had similar fates – over a certain period of time, they lived and worked in Prague, and were part of the natural multicultural Central European space, from which they were driven out by the expanding Nazi ideology.

Attesting to the extraordinary talent of the Czech composer and conductor Vítězslava Kaprálová is her brilliant piano concerto, which will be performed by Alice Rajnohová, who has rediscovered it for the world of classical music.

The oeuvre of Alexander Zemlinsky, a German-Jewish composer and conductor with Slavonic roots who as Kapellmeister for 16 years cultivated the opera company of the New German Theatre in Prague, is represented in the programme by magnificent settings of two Old Testament Psalms for chorus and orchestra.

The gala concert will conclude with Bohuslav Martinů’s Czech Rhapsody, in which towards the end of World War I the then 28-year-old composer expressed his hopes for freedom and independence of the Czech nation.

Cooperation and support

Organised by

Supported by




Media Partner

Media Partner

Media Partner

Contact us

Required fields